This Website and the Sub Sites attached to it use cookies. For details please click here. By continuing to use this Website or any Sub Sites, you are consenting to the use of these cookies. You can switch off cookies at any time using your browser settings but if you do, this may affect your user experience.
Please wait...

Bradford Mutual Sunday School Cricket League

Founded 1896.

Introduction to Our League

In 1895 representatives of four Sunday School Cricket Clubs applied to join the Bradford & District Sunday School Cricket League but their application was rejected. Instead they approached other Sunday School Teams who  had only played 'Friendlies' to form a League. Nine Clubs formed the new League which commenced in 1896 which comprised of : Bradford Moor S S, Daisy Hill M. A., Fagley Mission, Girlington St. Philips, Heaton Baptists, Marshfield Baptists, Salem Valley Congs, St. Andrews Juniors and Westgate U.M.

The first Chairman was Mr Arthur Bulcock and Secretary Mr Fred Savage. The playing hours were 3.30pm to 6.30pm due to factory working hours and little public transport. In 1909 Mr D. G. Ackroyd was elected as the first President and also in this year Sir James Roberts presented a Trophy foe presentation to the winners of a First Team Cup Competition and  following  the death of a former Chairman , Herbert Broadbent in 1935 a Trophy was presented in his memory for the Second team Cup Competition. The first Annual Presentation Dance was held at the Windsor Hall in 1925 and in the same year the League founded Headquarters in Church House on North Parade.

In 1946 the League celebrated it's Jubilee Year and the President Mr D G Ackroyd donated £50  towards   the trophy  which together with funds in-hand  was used to purchase  three trophies named the Dudley Ackroyd Trophies,  which were presented annually to Champions of A, B and C groups.

In 1948 Mr Wesley Green and Mr Walter Thornton both members of the Muffield Wesleyan Reform  made permanent contributions to the League and each gave a trophy which bear their names to the Champions of Sections 1 and 2.  In 1970  Mr Lesley D Briggs, a  former Chairman,  donated a trophy to be presented annually to the nominated to individuals,  who through their efforts have contributed to the League or thier club. The League also has the G F Terry  trophies which are presented for Batting and Bowling feats. These trophies were presented by Mrs Terry in memory of her husband , a well known player in our League for many years. The player scoring the most runs and the bowler taking most wickets  in a season are awarded these trophies.

Moving on to more recent times - over the years with the closure of many Churches , there are now few teams truely connected to a Church or  Sunday School.  A quick glance through the current member teams of the Bradford Mutual Sunday School Cricket League shows a  wide range of teams representing the many varied aspects of the multi-cultural society that has developed  in and around Bradford.

In recent years the Annual Dinner and the Presentation Evening  have become more popular with guest speakers from the World of Sport and the World of local and not so local Entertainment keeping us in raptures for the evening , non more so than the year 1996  , which saw the Bradford Mutual Sunday School Cricket League  reach its Century Celebrations with a wonderful evening  at the Midland Hotel in Bradford ,  our guest speaker that evening was Brian Close who played cricket for Yorkshire , Somerset and England.

In the year 2009  saw the League's First Team Cup Competition which plays for the Sir James Roberts Cup reach it's Century, originally scheduled to be played at Buttershaw St Pauls Cricket Ground between Bradford Gymkhana and Omars - the game started but was abandonded due to heavy rain , but  was hastely rearranged for the following Sunday at Dasiy Hill new ground  at Salem Rugby Club, Shay Lane , Heaton. The eventual winners were Bradford Gymkhana who are the most succesful team to have won the Sir James Roberts trophy no fewer than 10 occasions. For the occasion of 100th year of Sir James Roberts trophy - a wonderful publication entitled "100 not out  -  1910-2009" which charts facts and figures from down the years was produced by Stephen Mudd who is a member of our Umpires Association.

The year 2010 sadly saw the demise of the Bradford Central Cricket League after many years ,  at  the BMSSCL  AGM four  clubs were elected  to join our League , namely Allerton, Girlington,  Great Horton Church and Salem Athletic,  each consisting of two teams - which brings our League to a  total of 34 team playing in four divisions in season 2011. By welcoming the new clubs to our League it will hopefully strengthen the League for many years to come.  For Season 2012  we welcome two new clubs in Intelink CC and VVS Laxman  CC. 

 A very important aspect of season 2011 which was the new point scoring structure for League matches which was put in place for the first time,  this is all detailed in  League rule 7.